Skip to content

Warts and all…

November 24, 2012

Our carpet has been laid today and the sofa has arrived, so our living room will be complete when I get home and put up the curtains! What is it about a small simple change makes something feel so completely different? The smell and everything. I’m going to put it down to the fact that it now feels like ours, obviously it has been ours for a while now but when you finally put your own mark on something it really becomes you, or more your personality. I like that.  I read a blog the other day that talked quite a lot about keeping up with the Jones’. And I, like a lot of others am the same, a Pinterest addict after only a few days, I have already picked out our whole house or what house I would love to live in… (completely not thinking about what M would like) forgetting to think about what we have already and constantly comparing what we have with what we want and what other people have, its the curse of the social media… life envy, house envy etc.

I’m annoyed I didn’t follow the blogger as I now cannot find the post to link it but it really made me stop and think about what I have. It also talked about how people can portray their lives via social media in any way they wish, they may even lie (not implying anyone does) but some may only show the good, the brilliant and the beautiful.

I have found myself on several occasions wishing M and I could have more time to go visit friends, buy a new kitchen, go on lavish holidays, change our banger of a car, however I only wish for these things when I look at what others do and what they have got. M and I aren’t going to be able to make our house completely what we want straight away, it’ll be a work in progress probably for many years, but it is becoming our home the way we want it… maybe using some inspiration from others, but I am not going to wish I could change anything just because someone else has got it anymore.

So I am going to make a conscious effort with my blog, my istagram and twitter account not to portray myself as a perfect suzie homemaker or my house as the perfect shabby chic country manor I so long for… a warts and all insight to how our lives are starting out as a married couple and how our house is becoming our home.

Sx

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 21:59

    Oh I know what you mean about having loads of ideas ad keeping up with the Jones’s and then Argh! Reality! I’m about to have my garage converted, but also likely to be made redundant. We will be upcycling all the furniture in there but sadly not because it’s fashionable!!

    • November 30, 2012 20:18

      Thanks for commenting… reality can be frustrating can’t it? I hope your conversion goes well. There is nothing wrong with up-cycling, I have made a whole bunch of our old pine furniture look 100 times better with little cost. Fingers crossed you won’t be made redundant before Christmas.
      Sx

Trackbacks

  1. Conflicting feelings « backtomycountryroots's Blog

Leave a Reply

Lilinha Angel's World - UK Food & Lifestyle Blog

Sharing our Family Adventures, Meals and Travels

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Photo Mummy

Photo taking,Chicken Keeping,Animal loving,CFS Suffering,Tattooed Pagan Mum. Trying to find a work/home/life balance and giving blogging a go!

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

HPMcQ

stuff and bits and bobs

