Skip to content

Hand luggage…

February 23, 2013

I’ve been a little quiet on here lately, have been super busy getting organised for our big holiday. Super excited but what a mega headache! Who’s going to look after the cat, the car breaking again…etc etc. One thing I have not managed to sort out is my hand luggage. Let me give you the low down; we are in one week heading to New Zealand, we have two flights; Heathrow-China; China-Auckland. We leave Sunday evening and don’t land until Tuesday 5pm NZ time. Now I have never ever been on a long haul flight. I have no idea what to expect or what how I’m going to handle such a long flight so I thought as long as I pack my hand luggage well I will be fine… thing is I have no idea what to put in my hand luggage. So far my list reads like this;

  • A book
  • Clean pants / Socks
  • Toothbrush /paste
  • Passport / tickets etc.

That is it!

I’m blank, what will I possibly need? So I am welcoming any suggestions, if any of you frequent fliers got any travel tips, what things I should pack or how to handle jet lag the info would be greatly received!

Thanks in advance! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 20:02

    I like to take along a travel comfort pack with all the things I might need on a flight:
    http://ladylighttravel.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/travel-comfort-pack/

    Add in comfy clothes, a scarf and sweater (to control temperature) and you’re pretty much set. Maybe add in a collapsable water bottle for convenience, along with some snacks.

    As far as handling jet lag: try to go on your destination schedule as soon as you can. So eat at dinner time of your destination, sleep at sleep time. Also expose yourself to sunlight at the appropriate times (morning going east, afternoon going west). I may also pop a benadryl the first couple of nights at my new destination just to make sure I don’t come all of the way out of my sleep cycle.

Leave a comment

Lilinha Angel's World - UK Food & Lifestyle Blog

Sharing our Family Adventures, Meals and Travels

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Ghost Cities

Tales of Mystery and the Supernatural

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

HPMcQ

stuff and bits and bobs

Lilinha Angel's World

Stories and Reviews of a Busy Mummy

Diary of a Hands On Dad

A topnotch WordPress.com site